Holiday Reading - Indie Book Awards

Post date:
August 21, 2017

The Indie Book Awards celebrates talented Australian writers by awarding prizes in the following categories: fiction, non-fiction, debut fiction, children’s and young adults. One of the category winners is given the Indie Book Award for the year. This year's winner is Jane Harper, with her book 'The Dry'.

The Faculty of Society and Design librarian Rachel Peate has added all titles from the 2017 short list to the library’s collection and they’re currently gathered at the front of the library, ready for you to borrow.

Here’s the short list and winners from the categories of fiction, non-fiction and debut fiction for 2017:

Fiction shortlist

The Good People by Hannah Kent

Truly Madly Guilty by Liane Moriarty

Where the Trees Were by Inga Simpson

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith (Category winner)


Non-fiction shortlist

The Hate Race by Maxine Beneba Clarke

Ghost Empire by Richard Fidler

Fight Like a Girl by Clementine Ford

Everywhere I Look by Helen Garner (Category winner)

Debut fiction shortlist

The Birdman's Wife by Melissa Ashley

The Midnight Watch by David Dyer

The Dry by Jane Harper (Category winner and book of the year)

Goodwood by Holly Throsby